4 Months of Blogging

I started up this blog exactly four months ago on this day, and it has completely transformed my life in ways that I didn’t know was possible until now.

Ever since I could use a pen or pencil, I have absolutely loved writing. However, as I grew up, I began writing less and less until I reached my teenage years and fell victim to mental illness. This did lead me to taking up writing again, mainly journaling and writing poetry; but I never did anything with it. All of my writings were simply stashed in a book and put away.

I began this blog once I realised I could use my knowledge and experiences to help others. The subjects of mental illness and mental health are what I know best, as I’ve been dealing with them for the majority of my life; therefore I wanted to share this knowledge in the hopes of supporting others whilst eradicating stigma and misinformation simultaneously. This blog has allowed me to reunite with one of my true passions as well as giving me the opportunity to share my work with the world; whether that be articles on mental illness, short stories, poetry or photography. This blog has allowed me to demonstrate what life with schizoaffective disorder is actually like, the main aim of this blog was to provide an uncensored view into life with schizoaffective disorder, and I’m very happy to be able to say that that is exactly what I have done.

Over the past few months I have been able to give both support and advice to sufferers of mental illness all around the world, whether that be directly or indirectly. This has led to me establishing friendships with some of the most amazing people that I’ve had the privilege of talking to. Although my main focus is to help other people, I have also found that this works both ways, when I am feeling low or in need of support I know that there are people out there that I can turn to, who will be able to understand and relate to my struggles as well as give me useful advice.

It feels truly amazing to know you are helping others, it is the sole thing that can keep me going during times of hardship. Since I began this blog I have progressed greatly, I am far better at managing my mental illness, my writing skills and capabilities have improved, and my social skills have increased. This blog has provided me with a huge support network that can be used to both give and receive help. It has given me something to focus on and work towards, and with a goal to work towards I have found that my life has become far easier and simpler in every aspect. It also provides a distraction from my illness itself and allows me to turn my focus to the things that truly matter to me, which is helping others.

Over the following months, I hope to continue to make this blog thrive as well as cover more subjects. I am going to do a redesign of the entire blog at some point so that I can improve navigation and visibility of articles. I also want to add a featured bloggers section to this blog at some point in order to include the views and experiences of others involved with mental health. I will continue to post some of my photography from time to time, but I also hope to share some of my poetry and other writings such as short stories. I have a few plans to write a book or two over the next couple of years, although it will be a very long time before they are completed, they are certain to come.

I want to thank those that have supported me and my blog, without you guys there would be no reason to do this. Keep hope in your heart and a smile on your face.

2 thoughts on “4 Months of Blogging

  1. It’s awesome how much you’ve recognized the change in yourself just from something as (seemingly) simple as blogging. It can really transform how you see things. I love how much of an inside-out perspective it gives you. I feel like we’re so often focused on what goes on around us and everything external from us that we often forget about ourselves personally and how much we have to give to others. Awesome that you’ve found this as a way to contribute to others 🙂 Can’t wait to read some of your short stories and poetry. I was thinking of placing some short stories on my blog as well. Anyway, feels like I’m rambling, hope this paragraph makes sense ha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It has really surprised me by how much it can change you and the insight it can provide. You are right about that, not enough people take the time to slow down and look at themselves. You should go for it, I love reading other peoples stories and creations! Haha, don’t worry you make perfect sense.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

